Cartwheel Girl’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Freddie. April 19, 2010

Filed under: Family Stuff — cartwheelqueen @ 7:10 am

Freddie was my little brother, he was born on the 2nd of April 2010. When he came out he didn’t breath so he went into the Special Care Baby Unit SCBU for short. Freddie was put on a Ventilator.

The hospital he was in had just had a Virus going around so me and my sister weren’t allowed to see him.

But on the 6th of April they said we were allowed to see him, when we saw him he had a lot of wires helping him to get better.

After 2 days of being on this Ventilator Freddie was able to breath and shortly afterwards my mummy was allowed to give him a cuddle and when she did he opened his eyes just a little bit.
He then went to another hospital for the day to have is brain waves measured.

After that we had lots of ups and downs but he was stating to get better. Then he was moved into a room of his own and we were allowed to see him. We brought him some presents all of which he liked.

I gave him a Comfort Blanket, Maddy gave him a a Lullaby Teddy, Amelie gave him a bear called Leonie and Josie gave him some baby grows.

A while later he opened his eyes and was having a good look around. When we came to see him a while later he was asleep but we all had a picture taken of us and here it is.
Unfortunately after we had left he got a chest infection. The doctors thought that they could make him better but Freddie was too young to fight it off. He died on the 13th of April Freddie died aged 11 days old. But he died happy and in no pain.

 

11 Responses to “Freddie.”

  1. Alison Says:

    Oh Fran, we do love you.

    It must be so hard for you all now – we are all sending you love and strength to carry on. When you are older you will be so glad to know that you wrote this.

  2. Auntie Greer Says:

    This is a lovely piece of writing and a very, very beautiful picture of all of you together x

  3. Tilda Says:

    Wow, it’s good being able to hear the story from your point of view. You are being so brave.
    Lots and lots of love to all of you.
    Rest in peace Freddie, you are much loved and very missed.
    xxxxx

  4. Sallym Says:

    Its a beautiful picture and I am really glad you got to see him and give him the presents. We are thinking of you all the time and sending you hugs xxx

  5. cartwheelqueen Says:

    Thank you everyone đŸ™‚

  6. Joyce Says:

    Hi Fran you won’t remember me but I’m a friend of your mum’s and I met you a few times when you were younger. My little sister died when I was only a few years older than you are now, and I remember how sad and frightened I was at the time. Now I am just very glad that I had her in my life. I’m so glad that you got to meet Freddie and let him know that you loved him. What you wrote is lovely and I’m sure in the future you’ll be glad to look back at it. It’s a gorgeous picture of you all. Love Joyce

  7. Granny Says:

    Hello Fran,
    Longing to see you soon again and give you a cuddle. What you have written here is lovely indeed. We will never forget little Freddie…. he was only with 11 precious days but he showed us what it was to be brave because his battle was just the same as the bravest battle that was ever fought. We are all very sad but it was an honour to know him. See you soon darling and we’ll catch up on some lovely things to do …..love Granny xxx

  8. Nic Says:

    Hi Fran,
    I’m so sorry you didn’t get to have longer with your beautiful brother Freddie.
    I am sure you will forever treasure the memories you have of the time you did spend with him and the beautiful photo of you and your brother and sisters all together with your Mummy and Daddy.
    Ady, Davies, Scarlett and I have been thinking about you all lots and send lots of love to you all. xxx

  9. Poppy Says:

    Fran! *hugs* This must be so sad for you, I’m nnot going to pretend to understand how you feel, but I know it must be horrible. *hugs* I’m always here as a friend.

    Love Poppy

  10. cartwheelqueen Says:

    đŸ™‚

  11. alison Says:

    it must be horid for you I have no idea what you must be going through
    thinking of you alison


Comments are closed.