Cartwheel Girl’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Whispering Road, Book Review. June 22, 2010

Filed under: Book Reviews — cartwheelqueen @ 9:40 am

The Whispering Road is about two children, a boy and a girl, who live in a workhouse during the Victorian times. They escape from the workhouse to look for their mother who had to leave them at the there because she couldn’t look after them. During their journey the boy runs away without the girl and then later he finds out that the girl is very ill.

I find the book a very strong and moving tale, although I suppose the first two chapters of the book are slow, but as you get further you just have to know what happens next. It made me cry at the end because you find out about two children that the girl sees on the journey.

The two main characters in the book are the boy and the girl, Joe and Annie. Joe and Annie are brother and sister. Joe is the eldest and has a strong personality, Annie is younger and has a troubled mind because of her split personality and often needs Joe to help her get along.

The best bit of the book for me is at the end when Joe finds Annie in hospital, not well but alive, and he’s trying to tell her what happened to their mother.

The weak bit book I think is the beginning because nothing really seems to happen.

Overall I think it was one of the best books I’ve ever read. It’s made me want to read more of her books like Faerie Heart. It reminded me of Hetty Feather and Workhouse; I really enjoyed both of those books.

The story has 399 pages and was written by Livi Micheal

