Cartwheel Girl’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

July Book Reviews. August 1, 2011

Filed under: Book Reviews — cartwheelqueen @ 10:27 am

OK, this month I have read five books, so I’m still ahead by a long LONG way but I will do better this month! This month I have read The Spiderwick Chronicles, by Holly Black, Kiss by Jacqueline Wilson, Hetty Feather by Jacqueline Wilson, Girls Under Pressure by Jacqueline Wilson and The Deep by Helen Dunmore.

The Spiderwick Chronicles, I read the first three of these so they only counted as one book (not fair!) they were OK but there not my sought of book so I might not carry on with them but I might do. Basically they’re about three children (Mallory, Simon and Jared)  who find this magic book about faeries and ogres.

Kiss,  I enjoyed reading this book as it was very different from any of her other books which surprised me, but definitely one of my favourite books and I will possibly read it again.

Hetty Feather. Hetty Feather was the first Jacqueline Wilson book I ever read and I loved it, a friend lent it to me to read because she said she thought I’d like it, at first I thought I wasn’t going to like it but the moment I started to read it I fell in love with Hetty and all the other characters, since then I have read it three times. When I heard that there was another Hetty Feather book coming out I was absolutely over the moon. Definitely Jacqueline Wilson’s BEST book!

Girls Under Pressure. The second in the series of teenage books that Jacqueline Wilson has written, probably not one of my favourite books but it’s not one of my least favourites so somewhere in the middle I think.

The Deep. Unlike the other two books the The Deep felt a lot slower, it took me a lot longer to finish  but I still enjoyed it and I can’t wait until I read the next one!

 

