Cartwheel Girl’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

No One Mourns The Wicked! August 12, 2011

Filed under: Dancing — cartwheelqueen @ 5:27 pm

Every year my dancing school does a performance of a well known musicals. This time we did Wicked, which is a prequel to the wizard. Wicked shows how a lot of the main characters from The Wizard of Oz came to be. The two main characters are Elphaba and Glinda, who later become The Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good Witch of the North. The other characters are Madame Morrible, The Wizard he is also in the Wizard of Oz, Fiyero who turns into the Scarecrow, Boq the Tin Man,The Cowardly Lion and  Nessarose you don’t really know who she is but she is the one who gets squashed by Dorothy’s house!

We started the week with the auditions as normal, I wanted to get Glinda so I auditioned for her, unfortunatly I didn’t get her, I got Madame Morrible, who happens to be evil so I renamed her Madame Horrible!

I had 42 lines to learn (I counted them!) Which is more than I have ever had before, so it was quite a challenge! The four days that we had to practice seemed to go rather quickly so before we knew it, it was show day!

In my opinion I thought the show was great!!!! And it was a great week so an all round thumbs up from me 🙂

 

One Response to “No One Mourns The Wicked!”

  1. “The story is about…”

    I have it on very good authority that all 4 Puddles did a great job, and so would love to hear more about the musical.

    I also know that Geoffrey Maguire is a great author. I have read his Confessions of an ugly stepsister which is his perspective on Cinderella.

    Tell us more about Elphibah, the witch.

    And “Try Defying Gravity”, Fran! (I know there’s been a focus on acting and singing as well as dancing).


Comments are closed.